The North-West University Science Programs
Share this on

The North-West University Science Programs

The North-West University (NWU) is driven to become one of Africa’s preeminent centers of higher learning. It offers students from Asia a unique opportunity to obtain a world-class education in the West for much less than they would expect to pay in Europe or North America.

The NWU was founded through a merger of two very different universities in 2004, bringing together a dynamic cross-section of histories, cultures and personalities. This has fostered a vibrant, diverse learning environment in which international students of science thrive while gaining valuable multicultural exposure and honing their English-language skills. Students can enroll at one of three campuses: Mafikeng, Potchefstroom and Vaal Triangle.

Academic offerings
The NWU’s list of academic programs is considerably more diverse than those of many other South African Universities. Science programs are primarily available on the Mafikeng and Potchefstroom campuses.

By contributing to local research, international students – and particularly those from Asia – are actively carving out professional networks that they can call upon once they graduate. Given South Africa’s inclusion in BRICS (a transnational trade alliance that also includes India and China), these professional networks are going to make new graduates extremely attractive to Asia-based research teams and corporations in the coming years.


Pic: NWU science lab.

Mafikeng Campus

The main science programs at Mafikeng are grouped under the Faculties of Agriculture, Science and Technology along with Human and Social Sciences.

The Faculty of Agriculture, Science and Technology
School of Agricultural Sciences
This school consists of three disciplines (Animal Science and Crop Science) and operates two research centres as well as an experimental farm.

School of Environmental and Health Sciences
Five distinct areas of study are available through this school: Biochemistry, Biological Science, Geography and Environmental Science, Microbiology and Nursing.

School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences
The School of Mathematical and Physical Sciences is home to a suite of brand-new, state-of-the-art facilities.

Centre of Applied Radiation Science and Technology
This research centre is pioneering applied nuclear sciences and radiation technologies.

The Faculty of Human and Social Sciences
School of Human Sciences
This School offers coursework in the following areas: English; Setswana; Communications; History, Politics and International Relations; Tourism, Conservation and Sustainable Development; and Theology.

School of Social Sciences
The focus in the School of Social Sciences is on Psychology and Social and Economic Growth and Development.


Pic: NWU science programs.

Potchefstroom Campus

The science offerings on the Potchefstroom Campus are even more extensive. The following four Faculties offer a comprehensive suite of science-based programs.

Faculty of Natural Sciences
School of Biological Sciences
A wealth of natural sciences are covered under this faculty, including Geology, Microbiology, Botany and Zoology.

School of Chemical and Physical Sciences
This school prepares students for industry work in the areas of Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, Biochemistry and Technology Education.

School of computer, Statistical and Mathematical Sciences
Three subject groups are available in this school: Computer Science and Information Systems, Statistics and Mathematics.

Geo-Spatial Sciences
The School of Geo-Spatial Sciences explores issues related to Geography, Geology, Town Planning and Environmental Management.

Faculty of Health Sciences
School of Biokinetics, Recreation and Sport Science
This school creates experts in human movement, recreation, sport and health.

School of Pharmacy
The School of Pharmacy is a South African leader and generates some of the country’s most capable pharmacists.

School of Physiology, Nutrition and Consumer Sciences
This school is the result of a merger between the schools of consumer sciences and dietetics.

School of Psychosocial Behavioural Sciences
There are three units at work in this school: Psychology, Social Work and Psychotherapy and Counselling.

School of Nursing Science
This school complements the nursing school at Mafikeng, offering students flexibility in determining where they prefer to study.


Connect with the NWU and learn more about the university’s academic offerings on Facebook.