New Health Research will be presented in January
Share this on

New Health Research will be presented in January

In January more than 500 PhD students at Faculty of Health Sciences will present their research projects to at the annual PhD Day. With poster presentations and lectures, international speakers and political debaters from the medical world, the PhD Day has room for both the individual project and the big picture.

The PhD Day is a yearly opportunity for the PhD students to see the work of their colleagues, to network and to be inspired. The day provides a friendly environment for students to show their efforts and test their presentation and dissemination skills.










‘Successful supervision – a two-way process’
Internationally renowned scientists and experts are invited to give talks that inspire and motivate. This coming January we have the pleasure of welcoming Professor Sir Andrew McMichael, Director of the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine, JR Hospital Headington, Oxford. Theme of the day is “Successful supervision”
As a pioneer in research education Faculty of Health Sciences has more than 30 years of experience, and central to the consistent quality of the education offered here at HEALTH are our supervisors. These are researchers employed at HEALTH or Aarhus University Hospital recognized internationally for their results and academic knowledge.
Similarly, the importance of dedicated and ambitious PhD students prepared to take the initiative in the collaboration can not be underestimated.
Read more about the PhD day…   

In 2011 Nobel Laureate Professor Sir John E. Walker from the Medical Research Council in Cambridge talked at the PhD Day about his journey into the mitochondria and towards the absolute research elite. Before a packed auditorium Walker – in a personal and witty way – talked about what he saw as the three defining factors for any researcher:

  • That you are passionate and determined about what you do
  • That you have help and support, including financial support
  • That you remember that research is an opportunity to contribute to society









 Nobel Laureate Sir John E. Walker at Aarhus University campus

In 1997 Sir John E. Walker shared the Nobel Prize with Professor Paul D. Boyer for their explanation of the enzymatic process that creates adenosine triphosphate (ATP). And another Nobel Prize winner that year was Professor Jens Chr. Skou from Aarhus University for the first discovery of an ion-transporting enzyme, Na+, K+-ATPase.









 In 1997, Professor Jens Christian Skou from Aarhus University was awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his description of the sodium-potassium pump – a small, but vital mechanism located in every cell of the body.This is partly because, by pumping sodium ions out of the cell, the pump maintains a salt balance that is necessary for the function of muscles and nerves.

Read more about the life of the Phd students at Aarhus University: 
Read more about the Nobel Prize winners: